Achieving SaaS Security with Connected® Online PC Backup

Topics: Data Backup and Archiving

Download PDF

Introduction

Today, more companies than ever recognize the value and convenience of using online backup to protect their data. Enterprises considering online backup Storage as a Service (SaaS) face these security concerns:

  • Could an unauthorized individual gain access to backed-up data?
  • Could backed-up data be altered?
  • Will necessary data be available when needed?
  • Is data safe from fire, floods, and human error?

Iron Mountain offers hosted data storage that enables customers to reduce the costs, risks, and complexity of storing and protecting their business information. With our heightened focus on security, privacy, and cost savings, Iron Mountain goes beyond simple cloud storage to enterprise Storage as a Service.

Connected® Backup For PC Security Overview

Most corporate data originates with PC users, whether in the office, or on laptops or home computers. The Iron Mountain Connected Backup for PC solution can capture and store this vital information regardless of its source — inside or outside the firewall — while dramatically reducing storage costs

However, it’s not enough to back up the data: stored backups must also be secure from outside threats. Iron Mountain meets this need with the Subscription Service solution that truly and comprehensively protects the PC data that belongs to your enterprise. Iron Mountain follows rigorous standards to keep this data safe, including security best practices and Iron Mountain-developed practices.

The bottom line: Iron Mountain takes data protection seriously and goes to great lengths to protect customer data from all credible threats. The Connected Backup for PC Subscription Service solution provides security at every level, from backup through storage to data retrieval. Hitachi calls Iron Mountain’s Connected Backup for PC solution “the gold standard for PC data protection.”

This document introduces the many security measures currently in place within the Iron Mountain data protection architecture to prevent unauthorized access or damage to customer data.

What Is Connected Backup For PC Subscription Service?

The Iron Mountain Connected Backup for PC Subscription Service solution is a client-server system for file backup from personal computers, over any TCP/IP network, to ultra-secure offsite facilities. The Connected Backup for PC Subscription Service solution is available internationally.

Connected Backup For PC Subscription Service: Security

The Connected Backup for PC Subscription Service solution provides a level of security for the customer’s data that is better than alternative practices for handling computer data. The following sections show how Iron Mountain creates a secure environment for data transfer, data storage, and account management.

Iron Mountain’s security objectives have four aspects:

  • Data Transfer Security.

    Prevents access to customer’s data during transfer for backup or retrieval.
  • Storage Security.

    Prevents unauthorized access to backed up data stored on the server.
  • Management Security.

    Prevents unauthorized access while providing client account management.
  • Facility Security.

    Iron Mountain’s physical security practices and facility hardening.

Key Security Aspects Of Connected Backup For PC Subscription Service

Data Transfer Security

The Agent is a Connected Backup for PC application that runs on every PC to manage all backup, retrieval, and heal activities at the client level. For example, the Agent scans the PC’s disk and determines what data to send to the Data Center servers at Iron Mountain’s offsite, highly available, mirrored facilities.

Data transfer security features include:

  • The Agent always initiates contact with the Data Center
  • SSL encryption (TLS 1.0) protects all customer information during transmission between the Agent and Data Center
  • The Data Center server authenticates the Agent connection using the user encryption key, while the Agent authenticates the server using a digital certificate embedded in the Agent installation package.
  • After authentication, the Agent encrypts every file flagged for backup with 128-bit Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) and sends the encrypted data to the Data Center. If enterprises use third-party encryption products, such as Microsoft’s Encrypting File System (EFS), to encrypt files on PCs, the Agent backs up the encrypted files.
  • The Agent requires a valid password, or a valid technician ID and password, when a user tries to retrieve files. This can prevent unauthorized individuals who have physical access to another person’s client from performing retrieves.
  • Changing the account status can temporarily or permanently prevent an Agent from backing up or retrieving files from stolen or unused clients. For example, when an employee leaves the organization, canceling their account prevents unauthorized individuals from accessing files that the former employee backed up.

The Account Management Web site is an administration tool that allows users to modify their own profile information, such as their password. The user must enter a valid password to access the Account Management Web site. The optional Myroam administration tool allows users to retrieve backed-up files using a Web browser instead of the Agent user interface. Only specified users and communities can access the Myroam tool.

Storage Security

Iron Mountain stores all backup data in secure, offsite facilities.

Storage security features include:

  • The Data Center stores the 128-bit AES-encrypted files without decrypting them.
  • Every account has a unique encryption key, which is used to encrypt and decrypt each file that the Agent backs up. Only the Agent that encrypted the file can decrypt it. The Agent uses 112-bit Triple DES encryption to send the encryption key to the Data Center securely. The Data Center escrows the encryption key on its secure server
  • Since facility servers do not provide a view to customer data, in the highly unlikely event that an individual were able to gain access to data files on the server, that individual would not be able to view the data

Management Security

Support Center technicians possess credentials consisting of a valid Technician ID and an associated password. Technician accounts can have varying levels of access to the Support Center’s features based on the permissions granted to the technician ID. For example, a given technician might have access only to specific communities.

Staff security features include:

  • Access to the Data Center areas is restricted to facility administrators only
  • Only Iron Mountain employees and signed-in escorted guests can gain access to the Iron Mountain facilities.
  • All Iron Mountain employees receive a picture ID/card key for entry to the facility. Iron Mountain employees must display these Iron Mountain badges at all times. Card-key use logs are reported and reviewed regularly.

Facility Security1

Iron Mountain protects over 3 petabytes of PC data for some 3 million users in its secure offsite facilities worldwide. Iron Mountain has achieved 99.99 percent uptime for ten years, with most months 100 percent.

Facility security features include:

  • All data received by either mirrored facility is immediately replicated to its mirror by high-speed links.
  • Outages or disasters at either facility do not interfere with the availability of the data.
  • All Iron Mountain servers run a hardened version of Microsoft® Windows® 2003 Server, using Microsoft best practices and security patches and service packs.
  • up-to-date virus protection: never a business interruption due to viruses.

Protecting the security of your data is central to Iron Mountain’s business values. Iron Mountain owns or leases offsite Data Bunkers that provide high-security, environmentally controlled storage for media and includes data centers with redundant infrastructure.

These Data Bunkers include the following security measures:

  • 7x24 security.
  • Restricted access requiring photo ID and visitor escort.
  • Real-time closed-circuit TV monitoring.
  • Commercial power feeds with generators for full backup.
  • Clean Agent Fire Extinguishing System (CAFES) and onsite firefighting apparatus and personnel.
  • Internal and external 24x7 monitoring for temperature, “waterbug” leaks, smoke, fire, and motion detection.
  • External accreditation by the uptime Institute according to their Tier Classification and Performance Standard.

Connected Backup For PC licensed Product: Security

Client-side security for the Connected Backup for PC licensed product is similar to client-side security for the Subscription Service. However, with the licensed version, server-side security is not provided by Iron Mountain’s secure offsite facilities, but is the responsibility of the customer, including server-side networks, servers, firewalls, passwords, and physical facilities.

Summary

Iron Mountain is managing more than 3 petabytes (12 billion backup files) of data at its facilities. Iron Mountain has been backing up PC data since 1995,from the largest companies to small businesses. Iron Mountain delivers the expertise customers need to reduce the costs and risks of data protection and storage.

About Iron Mountain Iron Mountain Incorporated (NYSE: IRM) provides information management services that help organizations lower the costs, risks and inefficiencies of managing their physical and digital data. Founded in 1951, Iron Mountain manages billions of information assets, including backup and archival data, electronic records, document imaging, business records, secure shredding, and more, for organizations around the world. Visit the company Web site at www.ironmountain.ca for more information.


©2010 Iron Mountain Canada Corporation. All rights reserved. Iron Mountain, the design of the mountain and 1 800 FASTFILE are trademarks or registered trademarks of Iron Mountain Incorporated and are licensed for use by Iron Mountain Canada Corporation. All other trademarks or registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.


CA-PC-WP-042507-002 1 800 FASTFILE / www.ironmountain.ca

Le STaaS avec ConnectedMD Backup pour PC 

Sujets: Sauvegarde et archivage des données

Télécharger le PDF

Introduction

Plus que jamais, les entreprises sont conscientes de l’intérêt de la sauvegarde en ligne pour la protection des données de leurs serveurs. Celles qui envisagent la sauvegarde en ligne en mode STaaS (Storage-as-aService) nourrissent les préoccupations suivantes en matière de sécurité:

  • Est-ce qu’un individu non autorisé peut accéder aux données sauvegardées?
  • Les données sauvegardées peuvent-elles être modifiées?
  • Les données nécessaires seront-elles disponibles en cas de besoin?
  • Ces données sont-elles à l’abri des incendies, des inondations et des erreurs humaines?

Iron Mountain propose un service de stockage hébergé permettant aux entreprises de réduire les coûts, les risques et la complexité qui sont liés à la conservation et à la protection de leur information. En mettant davantage l’accent sur la sécurité, la confidentialité et les économies, Iron Mountain va au-delà du simple stockage dématérialisé pour offrir un service STaaS digne du monde des affaires.

ConnectedMD Backup Pour PC Du Point De Vue De La Sécurité

Les données des entreprises proviennent en majeure partie des utilisateurs d’ordinateurs de bureau, portables ou personnels. La solution ConnectedMD Backup pour PC d’Iron Mountain peut capturer et stocker ces données vitales, quelle que soit leur source, en deçà ou au-delà du pare-feu, tout en réduisant considérablement les coûts du stockage.

Cependant, il ne suffit pas de sauvegarder les données. Les sauvegardes stockées doivent également être protégées contre les menaces extérieures. Iron Mountain répond à cette nécessité avec sa solution de service par abonnement, qui apporte une protection véritable et complète aux données des ordinateurs des entreprises. Iron Mountain applique des normes rigoureuses pour assurer la sécurité des données. Elle intègre notamment les pratiques exemplaires du secteur et celles mises au point en interne par nos équipes.

En fait, Iron Mountain prend sa mission au sérieux et met tout en œuvre pour protéger les données de ses clients contre toutes les menaces possibles. Le service par abonnement Connected Backup pour PC assure la sécurité à tous les niveaux, de la sauvegarde à la récupération des données en passant par leur stockage. Selon Hitachi, la solution Connected Backup pour PC d’Iron Mountain constitue « l’étalon or de la protection des données de PC. »

Ce document présente les nombreuses mesures de sécurité actuellement en place au sein de l’architecture de protection de données d’Iron Mountain. Ces mesures préviennent les accès non autorisés et évitent que les données de ses clients ne soient altérées

En Quoi Consiste Le Service Par Abonnement Connected Backup Pour PC?

Le service par abonnement Connected Backup pour PC d’Iron Mountain est un système client-serveur de sauvegarde des fichiers des ordinateurs personnels. Ce service, d’une portée mondiale, fonctionne sur tous les réseaux TCP/IP et utilise des sites distants ultra-sécurisés.

Service Par Abonnement Connected Backup Pour PC : La Sécurité

Le service par abonnement Connected Backup pour PC offre un niveau de sécurité des données supérieur aux autres solutions offertes dans ce domaine. Les pages suivantes décrivent l’environnement sécurisé mis en place par Iron Mountain pour le transfert et le stockage des données ainsi que pour la gestion des comptes utilisateurs.

En matière de sécurité des données, Iron Mountain s’appuie sur quatre principes:

  • sécurité des transferts de données.

    impossibilité d’accéder aux données du client pendant leur transfert aux fins de sauvegarde ou de restauration.
  • Sécurité du stockage.

    interdiction des accès non autorisés aux données sauvegardées sur le serveur.
  • Sécurité de la gestion des utilisateurs.

    interdiction des accès non autorisés aux comptes utilisateurs.
  • Sécurité des lieux.

    pratiques d’Iron Mountain pour assurer la sécurité physique et la protection accrue de ses installations.

Aspects Clés De La Sécurité Du Service Par Abonnement Connected Backup Pour PC

Sécurité Des Transferts De DonnéeS

Un agent logiciel Connected Backup est installé sur chaque PC, cet agent gère l’ensemble des opérations de sauvegarde, de restauration et de correction au niveau du client. Par exemple, l’agent analyse le contenu du disque de l’ordinateur et détermine les données à envoyer aux serveurs des emplacements distants d’Iron Mountain qui sont des centres informatiques configurés en miroir pour une disponibilité maximale.

Les mesures de sécurité en matière de transferts de données sont les suivantes:

  • Seul l’agent entre en contact avec le centre informatique.
  • un chiffrement SSL (TLS 1.0) protège toutes les données du client pendant leur transmission entre l’agent et le centre informatique
  • Le serveur du centre informatique authentifie la connexion de l’agent au moyen de la clé de chiffrement de l’utilisateur, tandis que l’agent authentifie le serveur grâce à un certificat numérique intégré lors de son installation.
  • Après l’étape d’authentification, l’agent chiffre chaque fichier marqué pour la sauvegarde selon un algorithme AES 128 bits. Il envoie les données chiffrées au centre d’informatique. Si le client emploie l’outil d’un tiers pour le chiffrement des fichiers de ses ordinateurs, par exemple Microsoft EFS, l’agent sauvegarde ces fichiers déjà chiffrés.
  • L’agent exige un mot de passe valide ou bien l’identifiant d’un technicien accompagné d’un mot de passe, lorsqu’un utilisateur tente de restaurer des fichiers. de cette façon, il empêche toute restauration non autorisée par un tiers qui pourrait avoir accès à un poste client.
  • Le changement de statut d’un compte utilisateur peut, de manière temporaire ou permanente, empêcher un agent de sauvegarder ou de restaurer des fichiers à partir d’un poste client volé ou inutilisé. Par exemple, lorsqu’un collaborateur quitte la société, l’annulation de son compte interdit à des individus non autorisés d’accéder à ses fichiers sauvegardés.

Le site Web de gestion de comptes est un outil d’administration permettant aux utilisateurs de modifier leur propre profil, notamment leur mot de passe. L’utilisateur doit saisir un mot de passe valide pour accéder à ce site. Grâce à MyroamMC, un autre outil d’administration facultatif, les utilisateurs peuvent restaurer des fichiers sauvegardés à l’aide d’un navigateur Web au lieu de l’interface de l’agent. Seuls des utilisateurs et des groupes d’utilisateurs référencés ont accès à Myroam.

Sécurité Du Stockage

Iron Mountain stocke toutes les données sauvegardées dans des emplacements distants sécurisés.

Les mesures de sécurité en matière de stockage sont les suivantes:

  • Le centre informatique stocke les fichiers chiffrés selon un algorithme AES 128 bits sans les déchiffrer.
  • Chaque compte dispose d’une clé de chiffrement exclusive, servant à chiffrer et déchiffrer ses fichiers sauvegardés par l’agent. Seul l’agent ayant chiffré un fichier est en mesure de le déchiffrer. Il utilise un chiffrement AES 128 bits pour envoyer la clé en toute sécurité au centre informatique. Le centre conserve la clé de chiffrement sur son serveur sécurisé.
  • Les serveurs de sauvegarde ne permettant pas de visualiser les données des clients. Ainsi, dans l’hypothèse hautement improbable où un individu aurait accès aux fichiers sur le serveur, il ne pourrait pas en lire le contenu.

Sécurité De La Gestion DeS UtilisateurS

Les techniciens du Centre de soutien possèdent un identifiant spécial accompagné d’un mot de passe. Les techniciens disposent de divers niveaux d’accès, en fonction des droits associés à leur identifiant. Par exemple, un technicien peut n’avoir accès qu’à certains groupes d’utilisateurs.

Les mesures de sécurité en matière de gestion des utilisateurs sont les suivantes:

  • L’accès aux locaux du centre informatique est restreint aux seuls administrateurs du lieu.
  • Seuls les employés d’Iron Mountain et les visiteurs enregistrés et accompagnés ont accès aux locaux de la société.
  • Tous les employés d’Iron Mountain sont dotés d’une carte avec photo leur permettant d’entrer sur les lieux. Ils doivent porter cette carte d’identité de manière visible et en permanence. L’utilisation des cartes d’identité est enregistrée dans un journal et est vérifiée régulièrement

Sécurité DeS Lieux1

Iron Mountain protège plus de trois pétaoctets de données de PC pour quelque trois millions d’utilisateurs dans ses installations sécurisées réparties dans le monde entier. Les données ont un taux de disponibilité moyen de 99,99 % (moyenne établie sur dix ans), atteignant même 100 % la plupart des mois.

Les mesures de protection des lieux sont les suivantes:

  • Toutes les données reçues dans l’un des deux emplacements configurés en miroir sont immédiatement répliquées dans l’autre emplacement en utilisant des liaisons à haut débit.
  • une panne ou un sinistre dans l’un ou l’autre des emplacements n’a aucune incidence sur la disponibilité des données.
  • Tous les serveurs d’Iron Mountain fonctionnent sous une version renforcée de MicrosoftMd WindowsMd 2003 Server. Cette version applique l’ensemble des pratiques, les correctifs de sécurité et les ensembles de modifications provisoires de l’éditeur.
  • Actualisation de la protection antivirus, excluant toute interruption d’activité causée par une attaque virale.

La protection des données de ses clients est au cœur des valeurs d’Iron Mountain. La société possède ou loue des installations qui assurent un stockage sécurisé hors site, dans un environnement climatisé protégeant les médias et, dans le cadre d’une infrastructure redondante de centres informatiques.

Ces installations de protection des données comportent les mesures de sécurité suivantes:

  • Entrées sécurisées et gardées en tout temps.
  • Accès restreint des visiteurs avec carte d’identité et accompagnement.
  • Vidéosurveillance en temps réel.
  • Alimentation du secteur intégralement soutenue par groupes électrogènes.
  • Extincteurs propres; présence d’équipement et de personnel de lutte contre l’incendie.
  • Alarmes de surveillance environnementale interne et externe en fonction 24 heures sur 24 (température, fuites, fumée, incendie, détection de mouvement).
  • Agrément indépendante par l’uptime Institute selon la norme Tier Classification & Performance Standard.

Produit Sous Licence Connected Backup Pour PC: La Sécurité

La sécurité côté client du produit sous licence Connected Backup pour PC est semblable à celle du service par abonnement. Cependant, dans le cas de la version sous licence, la sécurité du côté « serveur » n’est pas assurée par les emplacements distants d’Iron Mountain, mais est de la responsabilité du client, y compris en matière de réseaux du côté « serveur », de serveurs, de pare-feu, de mots de passe et d’installations physiques.

En Résumé

Iron Mountain gère plus de trois pétaoctets de données (12 milliards de fichiers sauvegardés) dans ses installations. Sauvegardant depuis 1995 les données des PC d’entreprises de toutes tailles, la société offre les compétences dont ses clients ont besoin pour réduire les coûts et les risques liés à la protectionetau stockage de leurs données

à Propos D’Iron Mountain. Iron Mountain Incorporated (symbole NYSE : IRM) offre des services de gestion de l’information qui contribuent à réduire les coûts, les risques et les inefficacités au plan de la gestion des données physiques et numériques d’une entreprise. Fondée en 1951, la société Iron Mountain gère des milliards d’actifs informationnels, notamment, des données de sauvegarde et d’archives, des fichiers électroniques, des images numérisées, des pièces commerciales, des documents à déchiqueter et plus encore, pour le compte d’entreprises du monde entier. Visitez le site Web de notre entreprise www.ironmountain.ca pour en savoir plus à notre sujet.


©2010 Iron Mountain Canada Corporation. Tous droits réservés. La raison sociale Iron Mountain, le logo figurant une montagne, 1 800 FASTFILE, Connected, LiveVault, ActivFile, Accutrac, Digital Record Center, Image on Demand, Iron Mountain Connect et InControl sont des marques de commerce et des marques déposées d’Iron Mountain Incorporated aux États-Unis et dans d’autres pays et leur usage par Iron Mountain Canada Corporation est autorisé. Toutes les autres marques de commerce et des marques déposées sont les propriétés respectives de leur détenteur.


CAF-PC-WP-042507-002 1 800 FASTFILE / www.ironmountain.ca

1 Certaines caractéristiques ne fonctionnent que pour les données stockées aux Etats-Unis.