Taking the rogue out of social media

Topics: Social Media Compliance

Download PDF

76% of businesses regard communications by social media as formal business records.

46% have no idea that they carry legal responsibility for their content.1

Social media is all around you. From tweets to blogs to Facebook® postings, millions of people are interacting through social media every day in both their professional and personal lives. From a business perspective, these online social outlets present you with a real opportunity to connect more closely with your customers, prospects and partners. But when you open up these new channels for regular usage — without understanding the potential implications — you can create risk and face a slew of records management considerations.

Consider this. Recent research conducted by Iron Mountain revealed that 76 percent of businesses regard communications by social media as formal business records, but 46 percent have no idea that they carry legal responsibility for their content through social media channels. And, a third of the businesses surveyed described their management of social media as “unmanaged and chaotic.”1

As the use of social media continues to explode, so will your legal, compliance and related records management concerns. By applying records management and industry-accepted best practices, you can take steps to prevent social media from going rogue — and still benefit from its high-touch, real-time impact.

Defining and identifying social media records

Many organizations take a sweeping approach when it comes to records management. Instead of determining whether tweets or other social media communication have value, they simply save everything, or nothing at all.

Keeping everything can lead to a costly and inefficient use of storage. It also can create delays during e-discovery given the volume of records to be searched, as well as expose your organization to the discovery of items that could have been destroyed or ignored.

“ First, you should evaluate the type of content contained in your social media messages, regardless of format, and then set policies about what should be retained.“

Sue Trombley, mlis, managing director, Iron Mountain Consulting

On the flip side, retaining no social media content could result in the destruction of potential business records that are required to be held for legal and regulatory purposes. Neither approach is ideal, especially when Gartner predicts that by 2013 half of all companies will be asked to produce material from social media websites for e-discovery.2

According to Sue Trombley, MLIS and managing director of Consulting at Iron Mountain, organizations like yours can minimize these issues by making content king: “First, you should evaluate the type of content contained in your social media messages, regardless of format, and then set policies about what should be retained.

If you’re operating in a highly regulated industry such as financial services, the emerging Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) and existing Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) and National Association of Securities Dealers (NASD) regulations provide

    specific guidelines
for social media.”

If not, Trombley says the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) offers useful guidance that can help any enterprise define and identify records:3

  • Is the information unique and not available anywhere else?
  • Does it contain evidence of an agency’s (or organization’s) policies, business or mission?
  • Is there a business need for the information?

For the best results, you should work collaboratively with marketing, sales, customer service and other stakeholders at the forefront of social media communications — as well as with traditional legal, records management, compliance and IT teams. By doing so, you can better address what constitutes a record and prevent the retention of unnecessary information.

Industry fact:

Market researchers at Gartner predict that by 2014, social media will replace email as the primary means of interpersonal communication for one in five business users.

Source: “Gartner Reveals Five Social Software Predications for 2010 and Beyond.” February 2010 press release.

Integrating social media with records management practices

To manage your social media records, Trombley recommends that you extend the best practices for privacy and security that you’re currently employing in your overall records management program. This includes establishing written policies and guidelines regarding what information can and cannot be shared, who is authorized to speak on behalf of your organization and what social media tools can be used.

“Communicating and reinforcing these policies with your employees is essential to prevent inadvertent access to or distribution of both sensitive and proprietary information,” says Trombley

As you expand your footprint in social networks, you should also ensure that the way you capture social media records is manageable and effective. Just like traditional records, they need to be indexed and archived within context to make searching for them easy. Applying metadata to tag content serves this purpose.

At the same time, you’ll benefit by updating your Records Retention Schedule (RRS) so that it applies to both your hard copy and electronic information. According to ARMA, strict compliance with the rules of a RRS demonstrates due diligence and reasonableness, and can also help you improve control over related records management and storage costs.4

Leveraging new enterprise tools

Given the increase in social media activity, more enterprise software tools are becoming available to simplify the process of identifying, capturing and archiving records per an organization’s defined criteria. For example, some packages offer capabilities that enable you to continuously monitor and then capture and archive relevant social content stemming from Facebook, Twitter®, LinkedIn® and other sources — regardless of device and location. Some also provide you with social compliance modules for FINRA- and SEC-regulated industries, along with workflow routing to decrease the time required for submission and review of pertinent social media materials.

All things considered

Ultimately, social media should become a seamless part of your everyday records management function. By giving your social media records equal importance — and employing a comprehensive approach to securing and managing all your organizational records, you can gain efficiencies, protect your reputation and improve your ability to respond to both legal and compliance concerns.


1 “UK business managers in dark about social media legal responsibility.” Computer Business Review, March 5, 2012. 2 ”Social Media Governance: An Ounce of Prevention.” Gartner Research Note, December 17, 2010. 3 “Guidance on Managing Records in Web 2.0/Social Media Platforms.” NARA Bulletin 2011-02, October 20, 2010. 4 “Social Networks and Their Impact on Records and Information Management.” ARMA, January 25, 2011.

Maitrise des médias sociaux

Sujets: Médias sociaux et conformité

Télécharger le PDF

Faits de L’Industrie :

76% des entreprises considèrent les communications publiées sur les réseaux sociaux comme des documents commerciaux officiels.

46% d'entre elles ignorent qu'elles sont juridiquement responsables de leur contenu.1

Les médias sociaux sont devenus omniprésents. Qu'il s'agisse de tweets, de blogues ou de publications dans Facebook®, des millions de personnes communiquent par le biais d'un média social chaque jour dans le cadre de leur vie professionnelle et personnelle. D'un point de vue commercial, ces connexions sociales en ligne vous donnent une réelle possibilité de vous rapprocher de vos clients, actuels ou futurs, et de vos partenaires. Mais avoir recours à ces nouveaux canaux de communication sur une base régulière sans en cerner toutes les conséquences éventuelles, vous fait courir des risques, et vous devrez en contrepartie tenir compte de différents impératifs inhérents à la gestion de documents.

Réfléchissez à ce qui suit. Une récente étude menée par Iron Mountain a révélé que 76 % des entreprises considèrent les communications publiées sur les réseaux sociaux comme des documents commerciaux officiels mais que 46 % d'entre elles ignorent qu'elles sont juridiquement responsables du contenu ainsi publié. Et un tiers des entreprises interrogées avouent que leur gestion des médias sociaux est « chaotique et échappe à tout contrôle ».1

La fréquentation des médias sociaux ne cessant d'augmenter, vos préoccupations en matière de gestion de documents, de conformité et de légalité en feront de même. Mettre en oeuvre des pratiques exemplaires et reconnues de gestion de documents vous permettra de prendre des mesures pour pouvoir tirer parti du formidable impact que représente l'utilisation des médias sociaux en temps réel tout en gardant la maitrise de l'information.

Définition et Identification des Documents de Médias Sociaux

Beaucoup d'entreprises abordent la question de la gestion des documents de manière globale. Plutôt que d'essayer de déterminer la pertinence des tweets ou des communications d'autres médias sociaux, soit elles enregistrent tout, soit elles n'enregistrent rien.

Tout conserver peut conduire à une utilisation inefficace et couteuse des capacités de stockage. Cela peut générer également d'importants délais de recherche en ligne selon le volume de documents recherchés, ou faire courir des risques à votre entreprise suite à la découverte de documents qui pourraient avoir été détruits ou ignorés.

« Vous devez tout d'abord évaluer le type de contenu de vos messages publiés sur les médias sociaux, quel que soit leur format, puis définir les politiques de leur sauvegarde. »

Sue Trombley, mbsi, Administratrice Déléguée des services-conseils d'Iron Mountain

D'un autre côté, ne conserver aucun contenu de média social pourrait entrainer la destruction d'éventuels documents commerciaux que vous devez conserver pour des raisons juridiques et règlementaires. Aucune approche n'est idéale, spécialement quand Gartner prédit que, d'ici 2013, la moitié des entreprises devront publier des documents sur les sites Web des médias sociaux à des fins d'investigation informatique.2

Selon Sue Trombley, MBSI et administratrice déléguée des services-conseils d'Iron Mountain, les entreprises comme la vôtre peuvent résoudre une grande partie de ces problèmes en privilégiant le contenu : « Vous devez tout d'abord évaluer le type de contenu de vos messages publiés sur les médias sociaux, quel que soit leur format, puis définir les politiques de leur sauvegarde.

Si votre secteur d'activité est soumis à une lourde règlementation telle que celle régissant les services financiers, les règlements de la FINRA (Financial Industry Regulatory Authority), de la SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) et de la NASD (National Association of Securities Dealers) vous fourniront des directives spécifiques en matière de médias sociaux. »

Sinon, Sue Trombley indique que la NARA (National Archives and Records Administration) des États-Unis peut fournir une aide précieuse aux entreprises pour la définition et l'identification des documents :3

  • S'agit-il d'informations exclusives, que l'on ne peut trouver nulle part ailleurs?
  • Ces informations constituent-elles une preuve des politiques, des activités ou de la mission d'un bureau (ou d'un organisme)?
  • Ces informations répondent-elles à un besoin commercial?

Pour de meilleurs résultats, vous devriez collaborer avec le service à la clientèle, le service des ventes et du marketing, ainsi qu'avec l'ensemble des autres intervenants à l'avant-plan des communications dans les médias sociaux – sans oublier de faire appel aux habituelles équipes de TI, de conformité, de gestion de documents et aux services juridiques. Cette méthode vous permettra de mieux définir ce qu'est un document et d'éviter de sauvegarder des informations inutiles.

Faits de L’Industrie :

Les analystes de marché de Gartner prévoient que, d'ici 2014, les médias sociaux auront supplanté le courriel comme outil principal de communication pour un utilisateur professionnel sur cinq.

Source : « Gartner Reveals Five Social Software Predications for 2010 and Beyond », Édition de février 2010.

Intégration des Médias Sociaux aux Processus de Gestion des Documents

Pour gérer vos documents de médias sociaux, Sue Trombley vous conseille d'utiliser les meilleures pratiques que vous appliquez déjà dans le cadre de votre programme de gestion des documents en matière de sécurité et de confidentialité. Cela comprend la rédaction de politiques et de directives précisant la nature des informations à communiquer ou non, la personne désignée comme porte-parole de votre entreprise et les outils de médias sociaux à utiliser.

« Communiquer ces politiques aux employés et veiller à leur application est primordial pour éviter tout accès intempestif ou divulgation accidentelle des données critiques et exclusives de l'entreprise », explique Sue Trombley.

Plus vous serez présent sur les réseaux sociaux, plus vous devrez vous assurer de l'efficacité et de la gérabilité de votre processus de saisie de documents de médias sociaux. Tout comme les documents traditionnels, ils devront être indexés et archivés en contexte pour en faciliter la recherche. En ce sens, appliquer des métadonnées afin d'identifier des éléments de contenu vous y aidera.

D'autre part, vous pourrez en profiter pour mettre à jour votre calendrier de conservation des documents afin qu'il s'applique tant aux documents électroniques qu'aux versions papier. Selon l'ARMA, une stricte conformité aux règlements régissant un calendrier de conservation des documents est la preuve qu'une entreprise agit avec toute la diligence et la raison nécessaires – ce qui devrait également lui permettre de mieux contrôler ses couts en matière d'entreposage et de gestion de documents.4

Avantages des Nouveaux Outils Destinés aux Entreprises

Étant donné l'augmentation de l'activité sur les réseaux sociaux, les entreprises disposent maintenant de plus en plus de logiciels leur permettant de simplifier le processus d'identification, de saisie et d'archivage des documents en fonction de critères qu'elles auront définis. Par exemple, certaines applications vous permettent d'effectuer un suivi permanent de l'activité sur les médias sociaux, puis de saisir et d'archiver tout contenu pertinent émanant de Facebook, Twitter®, LinkedIn® ou d'autres sources – quel que soit l'équipement utilisé ou le lieu. D'autres applications vous fournissent des modules de conformité sociale spécifiques aux secteurs soumis à la règlementation de la SEC et de la FINRA, ainsi que des solutions de rationalisation du déroulement des activités afin de réduire le temps de soumission et de consultation des documents pertinents émanant de médias sociaux.

Tout Compte Fait

En fin de compte, les médias sociaux pourraient bien faire partie intégrante de vos activités quotidiennes de gestion de documents. En accordant aux documents des médias sociaux autant d'importance – et en adoptant une approche globale de sécurisation et de gestion de tous vos documents commerciaux, vous serez plus efficace, vous protègerez votre réputation et améliorerez votre capacité à répondre aux questions d'ordre juridique ou relatives à la conformité.


1 « UK business managers in dark about social media legal responsibility », Computer Business Review, 5 mars 2012. 2 « Social Media Governance: An Ounce of Prevention », Gartner Research Note, 17 décembre 2010. 3 « Guidance on Managing Records in Web 2.0/Social Media Platforms », NARA Bulletin 2011-02, 20 octobre 2010. 4 « Social Networks and Their Impact on Records and Information Management », ARMA, 25 janvier 2011.