Hurricane hazards can threaten you and your business. Know the hazards and create a plan to guard against personal harm and business loss and interruption. Learn about Ten Steps You Can Take Today

Watches. Warnings. Category 1 through Category 5. There’s a lot of information to decipher when it comes to hurricanes. But one thing is clear from the start: protecting your business against a hurricane disruption takes preparation.

With a comprehensive hurricane preparedness plan for your business, you can keep your priority on safety, and not worry if you’re ready or capable to maintain business continuity.

Ask yourself: If a hurricane arrives tomorrow, will my organization survive it? A great place to start is by reading, then implementing the Ten Steps You Can Take Today

Know the storm

There are several stages of a hurricane requiring action ranging from simple awareness, to critical reaction. You need to know when you are at greatest risk. June 1st through November 30th is hurricane season, and the most likely time that a storm can occur. Should a tropical storm or hurricane threaten to form, there is a 36-hour window of heightened awareness called a Hurricane watch. While there are varying degrees of risk during a Hurricane watch, there is a 1-in-3 chance that the center of the watch area will be hit. With odds like that, preparation is a must. Once landfall is eminent, the watch becomes a Hurricane warning. At this point, protective measures should already have been taken.

Know the risks

Hurricanes are fast, and unpredictable. Exactly where the eye of the storm will hit, or how large the damage radius will be is impossible to know for sure. There are, however, resources available from FEMA and Weather Office of Environment Canada that will map and track risk areas.

Put a plan in place and find the right partner to protect you

The sheer size and destructiveness of a hurricane can jeopardize your business records and information, interrupt continuity of your suppliers, and of course, prevent you from maintaining your services to your customers. While there’s nothing you can do to physically move your business out of the path of the storm, you can protect your business records and mission critical information with the right partner.

Iron Mountain has supported more than 250 recovery efforts and 25,000 disaster recovery tests. The companies that use Iron Mountain have a distinct advantage when preparing for hurricanes. With information stored offsite, yet still easily accessible, you may be able to maintain business continuity. Our customers are able to leverage our extensive experience to:

  • Reduce the risk that vital data will be lost
  • Promote timely recovery of important data
  • Prepare your employees to respond quickly when disaster hits
  • Implement best practices across multiple locations
  • Support compliance requirements for safeguarding sensitive data
  • Protect vital information assets
  • Access critical information such as, blueprints, original contracts and land plots

Les risques d'ouragan peuvent menacer vos affaires et votre sécurité. Prenez connaissance des dangers et définissez un plan de protection contre les dommages corporels et les pertes ou interruptions de vos activités. En savoir plus sur les dix mesures que vous pouvez prendre dès aujourd'hui

Observations. Avertissements. Catégories 1 à 5. Beaucoup de renseignements doivent être décryptés sur les ouragans. Mais une chose est sûre : cela prend du temps de protéger son entreprise contre les ouragans.

Un plan détaillé de préparation aux ouragans, vous privilégiez la sécurité et vous n'avez pas à vous soucier de la continuité de votre activité.

Posez-vous la question : si demain mon entreprise était frappée par ouragan, pourrait-elle s'en remettre? Pour bien démarrer, lisez et mettez en œuvre les dix mesures à prendre dès aujourd'hui.

Apprivoiser la tempête

Différents comportements (de l'état d'alerte à la réaction critique) doivent être adoptés en fonction du stade de l'ouragan. Vous devez savoir à quel moment les risques sont les plus élevés. La saison des ouragans s'étend du 1er juin au 30 novembre et c'est à cette période que les tempêtes sont les plus susceptibles de survenir. En cas de menace de tempête tropicale ou d'ouragan, vous devez être en alerte maximale pendant 36 heures : il s'agit de la période d'observation. Il existe plusieurs niveaux de risques pendant la période d'observation, mais il y a une chance sur trois que l'ouragan frappe pendant cette période. Avec cette probabilité, il vaut mieux être préparé. Quand l'ouragan est imminent, la surveillance se transforme en alerte d'ouragan. À cette étape, les mesures de protection doivent déjà être en place.

Connaître les risques

Les ouragans sont rapides et imprévisibles. Il est impossible de déterminer avec certitude où frappera l'œil du cyclone, ni l'étendue de son onde de choc. Il existe cependant des ressources disponibles à la FEMA ou auprès d’Environment Canada qui dressent la carte des régions à hauts risques et les surveillent.

Élaborer un plan et trouvez le bon partenaire pour vous protéger

L'ampleur et la force destructrice d'un ouragan peuvent menacer vos dossiers et vos renseignements professionnels, interrompre vos livraisons et, bien sûr, vous empêcher de continuer à servir vos clients. Bien que vous ne puissiez pas déplacer physiquement votre entreprise pour éviter la tempête, vous pouvez protéger vos dossiers professionnels et l'information critique grâce au bon partenaire.

Iron Mountain a mené plus de 250 efforts de reprise et a été soumis à 25 000 tests de reprise après sinistre. Les entreprises clientes d'Iron Mountain sont mieux préparées que les autres à faire face aux ouragans. Grâce à l'information conservée hors site, mais facilement accessible, vous êtes toujours en mesure d'assurer la continuité de vos activités. Nos clients peuvent bénéficier de notre riche expérience aux fins suivantes :

  • Réduire les risques de pertes des données essentielles
  • Restaurer les données importantes en temps opportun
  • Préparer leurs employés à agir rapidement au moment du sinistre
  • Mettre en œuvre les meilleures pratiques dans plusieurs sites
  • Respecter les exigences en matière de protection des données sensibles
  • Protéger l'information vitale
  • Accéder à l'information critique comme les projets, les contrats originaux et les plans